People

Directors & Administrators

Full Members

List of Full Faculty members
Name Phone Email Office

Ariel Aloe

Professor

Psychological and Quantitative Foundations
319-335-5566 ariel-aloe@uiowa.edu 217F LC

Patti Bahr

Adjunct Professor

Central Control-University Hospital
319-356-4282 patricia-bahr@uiowa.edu S277 C CDD

Mark Blumberg

F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor
Department Chair, Psychological and Brain Sciences

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2424 mark-blumberg@uiowa.edu 378 PBSB

Rodica Curtu

Professor

Mathematics
319-335-0744 rodica-curtu@uiowa.edu 225F MLH

Ece Demir-Lira

Assistant Professor

Psychological & Brain Sciences
ece-demirlira@uiowa.edu 275 PBSB

John Freeman

Professor & Stuit Faculty Fellow

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-3243 john-freeman@uiowa.edu E224 SSH

Becky Gonzalez

Assistant Professor

Spanish & Portuguese
319-467-0097 rebecca-gonzalez-1@uiowa.edu 410 PH

Jean Gordon

Associate Professor

Communication Sciences & Disorders
319-335-8729 jean-k-gordon@uiowa.edu 334D SHC

Julie Gros-Louis

Associate Professor of Instruction

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-384-1816 julie-gros-louis@uiowa.edu 170 PBSB

Prahlad Gupta

Associate Professor

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2908 prahlad-gupta@uiowa.edu 271 PBSB

Heidi Harmon

Clinical Associate Professor of Pediatrics - Neonatology
319-384-7352 heidi-harmon@uiowa.edu 8815-A JPP

Eliot Hazeltine

Professor

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-0616 eliot-hazeltine@uiowa.edu 264 PBSB

Juan Pablo Hourcade

Professor

Computer Science
319-353-2543 juanpablo-hourcade@uiowa.edu 101L MLH

Kai Hwang

Assistant Professor

Psychological & Brain Sciences
kai-hwang@uiowa.edu 355 PBSB

Brandon LeBeau

Associate Professor

Psychological & Quantitative Foundations
319-384-0638 brandon-lebeau@uiowa.edu 643 BHC

Melissa Lehan Mackin

Associate Professor

Nursing
319-335-3045 melissa-lehan@uiowa.edu 454 CNB

Jake Michaelson

Associate Professor

Psychiatry
319-335-8066 jacob-michaelson@uiowa.edu B030 ML

Molly Nikolas

Associate Professor

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2455 molly-nikolas@uiowa.edu 372 PBSB

Jodie Plumert

Professor and Starch Faculty Fellow

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2405 jodie-plumert@uiowa.edu E12 SSH

Kelli Ryckman

Professor

Department of Epidemiology
319-384-1562 kelli-ryckman@uiowa.edu S435 CPHB

Christine Shea

Associate Professor

Spanish & Portuguese
319-335-2795 christine-shea@uiowa.edu 412 PH

Elizabeth Walker

Associate Professor

Communication Sciences & Disorders
(319) 353-8980 elizabeth-walker@uiowa.edu 125-B SHC

Ed Wasserman

Stuit Professor of Experimental Psychology

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2445 ed-wasserman@uiowa.edu 478 PBSB

Carrie Whittaker

Admin Services Coordinator

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2450 carrie-whittaker@uiowa.edu G60 PBSB

Affiliate Members

List of Affiliate Faculty members
Name Phone Email Office

Susan Assouline

Professor

susan-assouline@uiowa.edu

Keith Baxelbaum

Assitant Research Scientist/Engin

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-333-7788 kapfelbaum@foundations-learning.com 278 PBSB

Nicholas Bowman

Mary Louise Petersen Chair in Higher Education

Higher Education & Student Affairs
319-335-5372 nick-bowman@uiowa.edu N438A LC

Leyre Castro Ruiz

Assistant Research Scientist

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2802 leyre-castroruiz@uiowa.edu 204 SLP

Amy Conrad

Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist

Pediatrics; Division of Developmental & Behavioral Pediatrics
319-384-9214 amy-l-conrad@uiowa.edu 146-B CDD

James C Dooley

Assistant Research Scientist/Engin

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319/335-3975 james-c-dooley@uiowa.edu 129 SLP

Deirdre Egan

Instructional Service Specialist

Rhetoric
319-335-0188 deirdre-egan@uiowa.edu 110 EPB

Bernd Fritzsch

Professor Emeritus

Biology
319-353-2969 bernd-fritzsch@uiowa.edu 214 BB

Bruce Gantz

Brian F. McCabe Professor of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

Otolaryngology
319-356-2173 bruce-gantz@uiowa.edu 21158 PFP

Emilie Maurel-Destruel

Associate Professor
Director of 1st and 2nd year French Program

French and Italian
319-335-2265 e-destruel@uiowa.edu 514 PH

Joseph Kearney

Professor

Computer Science
319-335-0741 joe-kearney@uiowa.edu 225F MLH

Martin Kivlighan

Associate Professor

Counseling Psychology Program
319-335-5495 martin-kivlighan@uiowa.edu N334 LC

Vincent Magnotta

Professor

Radiology
319-356-8255 vincent-magnotta@uiowa.edu L311 PBDB

Duhita Mahatmya

Associate Research Scientist/Engin

Research and Development
319-384-3541 duhita-mahatmya@uiowa.edu 127 SLC

Colleen Mitchell

Associate Professor

Mathematics
319-335-3813 colleen-mitchell@uiowa.edu 225E MLH

Cathleen Moore

Professor

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2427 cathleen-moore@uiowa.edu 155 PBSB

J. Toby Mordkoff

Associate Professor

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-384-3387 jonathan-mordkoff@uiowa.edu 174 PBSB

Peggy Nopoulos

Professor

Psychiatry
319-384-9264 peggy-nopoulos@uiowa.edu 8984 JPP

Isaac Petersen

Assistant Professor

Psychological & Brain Sciences
isaac-t-petersen@uiowa.edu 175 PBSB

Naomi Rodgers

Assistant Professor

Communication Sciences & Disorders
naomi-hertsberg@uiowa.edu 222 SHC

Greta Sokoloff

Research Scientist
Blumberg Lab

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-3975 greta-sokoloff@uiowa.edu 371 PBSB

Lane Strathearn

Professor

Pediatrics
319-356-7044 lane-strathearn@uiowa.edu 217 CDD

Anu Subramanian

Clinical Professor

Communication Sciences and Disorders
319-335-8694 anu-subramanian@uiowa.edu 120-F SHC

Michelle Voss

Associate Professor

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2057 michelle-voss@uiowa.edu 274 PBSB

Joshua Weiner

Associate Dean

Biology
319-335-0091 joshua-weiner@uiowa.edu 348B BB

Non-UI Affiliates

List of Non-UI Affiliate members
Name Email University

Karen Adolph

Professor of Psychology and Neural Science

karen.adolph@nyu.edu New York University

Michael Anderson

Associate Professor

michael.anderson@fandm.edu Franklin & Marshall College

Rick Arenas

Assistant Professor

stuttering@unm.edu University of New Mexico

Sir Patrick Bateson

Emeritus Professor

ppgb@cam.ac.uk University of Cambridge

Joshua Bongard

Associate Professor

josh.bongard@uvm.edu University of Vermont

Heather Bortfeld

Associate Professor

heather.bortfeld@uconn.edu University of Connecticut

Stephanie Carlson

Professor

smc@umn.edu University of Minnesota

Shana Carpenter

Assistant Professor

shacarp@iastate.edu Iowa State University

Morten Christiansen

Professor

christiansen@cornell.edu Cornell University

Sean Deoni

Assistant Professor

Sean_C_Deoni@brown.edu Brown University

Melissa Duff

Professor

melissa.c.duff@vanderbilt.edu Vanderbilt University

Anna Fisher

Associate Professor

fisher49@andrew.cmu.edu Carnegie Mellon University

Lisa Goffman

Professor

goffman@purdue.edu Purdue University

Richard Lamb

Assistant Professor

richard.lamb@wsu.edu Washington State University

Laura Lavine

Associate Professor

lavine@wsu.edu Washington State University

Olga Lazareva

Assistant Professor

olga.lazareva@drake.edu Drake University

David Lewkowicz

Professor

d.lewkowicz@neu.edu Northeastern University

Robert Lickliter

Professor

licklite@fiu.edu Florida International University

Deborah Linebarger

Director, Children's Media Lab, Associate Professor

dlinebar@purdue.edu Purdue University

Bradley Love

Adjunct Professor

b.love@ucl.ac.uk University College London

Maryellen MacDonald

Donald P. Hayes Professor of Psychology

mcmacdonald@wisc.edu University of Wisconsin - Madison

Kristen Missall

Associate Professor

kmissall@uw.edu The University of Washington

Benjamin Munson

Professor

munso005@umn.edu University of Minnesota

Kate Nation

Professor

kate.nation@psy.ox.ac.uk University of Oxford

Charles Nelson

Professor

charles.nelson@childrens.harvard.edu Harvard University

Scott Robinson

Professor

Idaho State University

Gregor Schöner

Professor

gregor.schoener@ini.rub.de Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany

David Shenk

Writer, Lecturer, Filmmaker

homepage@davidshenk.com Brown University

Dean Keith Simonton

Distinguished Professor

dksimonton@ucdavis.edu University of California - Davis

Roumyana Slabakova

Professor

R.Slabakova@soton.ac.uk University of Southampton

Vladimir Sloutsky

Professor

sloutsky.1@osu.edu The Ohio State University

Holly Storkel

Professor and Chair

hstorkel@ku.edu Kansas University

Janet Werker

Professor

jwerker@psych.ubc.ca The University of British Columbia

Michael Young

Professor

michaelyoung@ksu.edu Kansas State University

Philip Zelazo

Nancy M. and John E. Lindahl Professor

zelazo@umn.edu University of Minnesota

Post-Doctoral Trainees

List of Post-Doctoral Trainee members
Name Phone Email Office

Claire Goodwin

Research Assistant

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-0692 claire-goodwin@uiowa.edu B1 SLP

Francis Smith

Postdoctoral Research Scholar

Psychology
francis-smith@uiowa.edu

Graduate Students

List of Grad Students
Name Phone Email Office

Morgan Di-Napoli Parr

Graduate Student

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2988 morgan-parr@uiowa.edu 255 PBSB

Elizabeth O'Neal

Graduate Student

Psychological & Brain Sciences
319-335-2416 elizabeth-oneal@uiowa.edu E420G SSH

Marco Pipoly

Graduate Fellow

Interdisciplinary Graduate Program - Neuroscience
marco-pipoly@uiowa.edu 356 MRC

Kezia Cecil Walker

Graduate Student

Linguistics
319-335-0209 kezia-walker@uiowa.edu 314 PH

Advisory Board

List of Advisory Board
Name Website

Carolyn Brown

Co-founder of Breakthrough to Literacy

Deb Dunkhase

Director, Iowa Children's Museum

Lisa Goffman

Professor

Art Kramer

Director of Beckman Institute, Professor

Mary Mascher

State Representative, District 77

Linda Smith

Distinguished Professor, Chancellor's Professor

Jerry Zimmermann

Co-founder of Breakthrough to Literacy

Alumni

List of Alumni members
Name Website

Rebecca Alper

Postdoctoral Fellow

Dan Brooks

Postdoctoral Fellow

Bryan Brown

Aaron Buss

Assistant Professor

Lourdes Delgado Reyes

Graduate Student

Evelina Dineva

Scientific Assistant

Ashley Farris-Trimble

Assistant Professor

Marcus Galle

Lecturer

Katherine Gordon

Postdoctoral Fellow

Julia Hollister

Assistant Professor

Jessica Horst

Senior Lecturer

Eric S. Jackson

Assistant Professor

Gavin Jenkins

Postdoctoral Fellow

Nate Klooster

Postdoctoral Fellow

Sarah Kucker

Assistant Professor

Jake Kurczek

Assistant Professor

Tania Leal

Graduate Student

Shan-ju Lin

Valerie Mendez-Gallardo

Assistant Professor

Jessica O'Bleness

Research Consultant

Sammy Perone

Assistant Professor

Lynn Perry

Assistant Professor

Lina Reiss

Assistant Professor

Shannon Ross-Sheehy

Assistant Professor

Gwyneth Rost

Assistant Professor

Vanessa Simmering

Assistant Professor

Fabian Soto

Assistant Professor

Alexandre Tiriac

Joe Toscano

Assistant Professor

Timothy Wifall

Sobanawartiny Wijeakumar

Senior Research Associate

Zhen Wu

Assistant Professor

Christine Ziemer

Assistant Professor

Community Partners

List of Community Partners
Name Website

Deb Dunkhase

Director, Iowa Children's Museum

Susan Gray

Director, 4Cs Community Coordinated Child Care

Sheila Hansen

Director, Every Child Counts

Mary Lukas

Founder and Director, Success from the Start

Mary Mascher

State Representative, District 77

Laurie Nash

Early Childhood Specialist, Johnson County Empowerment

Brenda Nelson

Owner, Brenda's Educare Home

Chuck Peters

President, The Gazette Company

Christi Reagan

Director, HACAP Head Start Early Head Start

Jeanie Wade-Nagle

Early Education Supervisor, Grant Wood AEA